Château d'Urspelt - Urspelt, Clervaux, L-9774, Grand Duché de Luxembourg (EU)

Historique

  • History
  • History
  • History
  • History
  • History

L’origine du château remonte à plus de 300 ans. Trois siècles durant lesquels le bâtiment connut pas mal de vicissitudes et de long procès entre anciens propriétaires. Jusqu’en 1862 lorsque le dénommé Armand Bouvier en deviendra le seigneur et y entreprendra d’y accomplir de grands travaux de rénovation, s’attardant tout particulièrement sur les jardins, dont le dessin d’ensemble a jusqu’aujourd’hui gardé sa véritable empreinte. On lui doit notamment la merveilleuse allée bordée d’ormes, des arbres exceptionnels devenus rares dans la région.

  • gen_paul2

Avec la seconde guerre mondiale, le château subira de nombreux dégâts. Réquisitionné par les Allemands, le vénérable bâtiment deviendra un poste de commandement local pour le nord du Luxembourg. En pleine bataille des Ardennes, ils abandonneront les lieux au profit des soldats américains qui s’y installeront durant le rude hiver 1944. Pour se chauffer, ceux-ci arracheront et brûleront une partie des précieuses boiseries.

Photo: US Major General Willard S. Paul

  • CHATEAU URSPELT AVANT TRANSFORMATION_0015
  • CHATEAU URSPELT AVANT TRANSFORMATION_0009
  • CHATEAU URSPELT-09-05-_0009
  • CHATEAU URSPELT AVANT TRANSFORMATION_0008
  • CHATEAU URSPELT AVANT TRANSFORMATION_0010
  • Reconstruction
  • Reconstruction

Laissé depuis à l’abandon, le château disparaîtra petit à petit dans une végétation envahissante ainsi que dans la mémoire des habitants de la région.

Jusqu’à ce jour de 2005 où Monsieur Freddy Lodomez, entrepreneur passionné de restauration et de patrimoine, en tombera littéralement amoureux et décidera de l’acquérir pour le faire renaître. Et réussir l’alchimie entre passé et présent, entre authenticité et modernité, confort et fonctionnalité.

Les travaux dureront 3 ans durant lesquels une centaine d’artisans œuvreront sans relâche pour redonner au château son éclat et sa beauté d’antan dans le plus grand respect de la tradition et du patrimoine existant.

  • Reconstruction
  • CHATEAU URSPELT PENDANT TRANSFORMATION_0026
  • CHATEAU URSPELT PENDANT TRANSFORMATION_0032
  • CHATEAU URSPELT PENDANT TRANSFORMATION_0020

Réservations

United Nations Global Compact Wifi gratuit Fair Trade Zone Award Eco Label Gold Award Bed and Bike

Château d'Urspelt **** - Urspelt, Clervaux, L-9774, Luxembourg

History

  • History
  • History
  • History
  • History
  • History

The origins of the chateau date back more than 300 years. Over three centuries the building has seen its share of vicissitudes and long court cases between its previous owners. This was the case right up until 1862 when a certain Armand Bouvier became its master and started carrying out important renovation work on it. He paid particular attention to the gardens, which still retain their overall original design today. In particular, he is to be thanked for the wonderful path lined with elms. This exceptional tree has now become a rarity in the region.

  • gen_paul2

The chateau suffered a great deal of damage during the Second World War. Requisitioned by the Germans, this almost sacred institution became their local command post for the north of Luxemburg. At the height of the Battle of Ardennes, it was abandoned to US soldiers (26th Inf "Yankee Division") who settled in for the harsh winter of 1944. To keep themselves warm, these soldiers were to tear down and burn part of its precious woodwork.

Picture : US Major General Willard S. Paul

  • CHATEAU URSPELT AVANT TRANSFORMATION_0015
  • CHATEAU URSPELT AVANT TRANSFORMATION_0009
  • CHATEAU URSPELT-09-05-_0009
  • CHATEAU URSPELT AVANT TRANSFORMATION_0008
  • CHATEAU URSPELT AVANT TRANSFORMATION_0010
  • Reconstruction
  • Reconstruction

Neglected from that time on, the chateau gradually began to disappear behind overgrown vegetation and be forgotten by the local people.

But this was only until a certain day in 2005 when Mr. Freddy Lodomez, an entrepreneur with a passion for restoration and national heritage, literally fell in love with the chateau and decided to acquire it and bring it back to its former glory. He aimed to achieve a happy alchemy of past and present, authentic and modern, comfort and practicality

For three years, about a hundred craftsmen worked non-stop, with the greatest respect for local traditions and what remained of the existing building, to return the chateau to its former beauty and splendour.

  • Reconstruction
  • CHATEAU URSPELT PENDANT TRANSFORMATION_0026
  • CHATEAU URSPELT PENDANT TRANSFORMATION_0032
  • CHATEAU URSPELT PENDANT TRANSFORMATION_0020

Reservations

Free Wifi Eco Label Gold Award Bed and Bike